Moong Dal Halwa

I remember the winter holidays in my school.  Almost more than a week of chilling cold weather and basking in the pleasant sunshine while the next door aunty (we had so many aunties nearby…) would visit us with a bowl of something… someday it would be dhokla.. some day paneer. It was during one of these visits that I first came across this sweet dish – Moong dal ka halwa. I have a sweet tooth and just loved this. Till I was in school (at Rihand Nagar, UP – a small NTPC township) I often got chance to taste this dish, thanks to the aunties around, though my mom never made it. However for a long time I had just forgotten about it.

It was one of the snowing days in Connecticut that reminded me of it. And there I was on a ISD call to my mom to get hold of that recipe from any of those aunties. I knew an internet search could give me that but I trusted my childhood taste buds more than anything. So… thanks to “Totle auny” I ended up making this dessert. And it was awesome… though full of calories but I chose to ignore that thought…

Ingredients:

  • Split (Yellow) Moong dal – 1 cup
  • Water – 2 cups
  • Sugar – 1 cup or to taste
  • Oil / Clarified Butter/Ghee – 2 tbsp
  • Khoya – 1/2 cup (if you don’t have you can exclude it)
  • Milk – 2 cups
  • Cashewnuts and Raisins – for garnishing

Method

  • Roast the Moong Dal lightly and then let it cool and grind it to a powder.
  • Soak the powdered dal in 2 cups of water for a few hours, better if overnight.
  • You can also soak the dal in water overnight and grind it to a paste.
  • Heat ghee, oil or butter in a thick bottomed pan and fry the paste on medium to low heat till it changes color to a golden brown.
  • Add sugar, milk and khoya to the paste and stir in continuously.
  • Keep stirring till the  mixture thickens to the desired consistency.
  • Garnish with the dry nuts and raisins.
Text Box: •	Split (Yellow) Moong dal 		- 1 cup •	Water					- 2 cups •	Sugar 					- 1 cup or to taste •	Oil / Clarified Butter/Ghee 		- 2 tbsp •	Khoya 					- 1/2 cup (if you don’t have you can ignore it too)  •	Milk 					- 2 cups •	Cashewnuts and raisins 		- for garnishing

One thought on “Moong Dal Halwa

  1. hey i liked this version of moong daal halwa…i searched it on google, they say, daal and ghee in equal quantity…but u have not used which i liked it…another thing needed to ask was is it necessary to soak the powdered daal overnight? as it is already powdered, we can prepare instantly…right?

Leave a Reply

