Egg Keema

Eggs – so popularly and frequently cooked in non-veg Indian households.  So in ours…

I always keep sufficient eggs in my stock, that way even if I have to cook for ourselves in a hurry we can have plain rice, dal and a omlette. When I have nothing else to cook or do not want to strain myself with too much of experiments in the kitchen, I make eggs. Ask my husband what he wants to eat – at any hour  – he would say ‘eggs’. Well.. I can tell you, if your husband or kids love eggs, nothing like that! Full of proteins, no hassles, and you can stock them beforehand. Add them to your noodles or Maggie and they are even more yummy!

As far as I am concerned, yes, I am fine with eggs. I am just fine! I have never treated them as special and just take them for granted. My favorite is chicken (though I have not yet mentioned any of the chicken recipes yet… they will follow soon). I not only love having chicken, but I also love cooking them. You can have so many different preparations… wow!

And probably that is the reason the other day I was looking for some nice egg recipes, should be easy to cook,tasty yet different. Not the usual way. And here is what I found – ‘Egg Keema’. Initially I was excited  – does this mean eggs and minced meat? No, it definitely does not, rather its minced eggs! I know I can try making minced meat and eggs some other day, but till then we are stuck with this recipe .

Here we go. Make it and am sure it will be a pleasant variation to have the minced eggs served with parathas. Bon Appétit !

Ingredients:

  • Eggs, hard-boiled  – 4 (peeled and grated/finely chopped)
  • Egg, hard-boiled – 1 (sliced) optional for garnishing
  • Bay Leaf – 1
  • Whole garam masala
    • Cinnamon Stick – 1 inch piece
    • Black Cardamom – 1
    • Green Cardamom – 2
    • Whole Cloves – 2
  • Onion – 1 large, finely chopped
  • Ginger – 2 tsp, minced
  • Garlic – 2 tsp, minced
  • Green Chilies – to taste, finely chopped
  • Turmeric Powder – 1/2 tsp
  • Red Chili Powder – to taste
  • Coriander Powder – 2 tsp
  • Cumin Powder – 1 tsp
  • Tomatoes –  1 large, finely chopped or puree
  • Salt – to taste
  • Green Peas, cooked or boiled – 1/2 cup (if using frozen soak in warm water for a minute and drain)
  • Garam masala powder – 1/2 tsp
  • Oil –  1.5 Tbsp
  • Water – as required
  • Cilantro – finely chopped for garnishing

Method:

  • In a pan heat oil on medium heat.
  • Add bay leaf, cinnamon stick, black and green cardamom, cloves and stir .
  • Add onions and little salt, mix well, cover and cook for 15 minutes. Stir frequently.
  • Add ginger, garlic and mix well. Cover and cook till the onions  are browned and oil separates.
  • Add green chillies and tomatoes, mix well. Cover again and cook for 10 minutes, stirring frequently in between.
  • Uncover and cook for a while till the oil separates. From now on cook uncovered.
  • Add red chilli powder, turmeric powder, coriander and cumin powder. Stir well.
  • Add the grated eggs, salt to taste and a little water . Mix well.  Do not add excess water as this preparation is a dry one. The yolk absorbs water, so add accordingly.
  • Add cooked green peas and garam masala powder. Let it cook for 2-3 minutes, so that any excess moisture evaporates.
  • Serve hot, garnish with chopped cilantro.
  • Add sliced boiled eggs on top for garnishing though this is optional
4 thoughts on “Egg Keema

  1. I prefer to acquire breaks throughout the my day and look via some blogs to see what individuals are saying. This website appeared in my searches and that i couldn’t assist but clicking on it. I’m glad I did simply because it was a quite fulfilling study.

  2. I was just looking at associated blog content material for my mission study when I occurred to stumble upon yours. Thank you for the useful data!

  3. My English communication is not so super butI assume I realize every thing. Give thanks to u so a lot for that fantastic blog page put up. I really get pleasure from reading through it. I believe you are a absolute author. At this moment additional ur web site to my favorites and will appear once more to yor net web page. Keep up that wonder work. Hope to view a lot more quickly.

Leave a Reply

