Veg Pulao / Fried Rice

For the last 2 days I hav not been blogging… as I decided not to blog on weekends. Now I have 3 recipes ready with the snaps to put down. I have to choose which one should come first and I decided to pen down the easiest of them first. Well that’s how the Veg Pulao recipe happens to be the first one. As I typed the title of my post I quickly google-d up the difference between a ‘fried rice’ and ‘pulao’ and here is what I found. The main difference between them is that ‘fried rice’ is made from pre-cooked rice while pulao is made instantly by the usual way of making rice. Again depending upon the ingredients used you can have different names to the pulao/fried rice.

So I decided to stop juggling between the two names and use both of them. Though I cooked rice instantly I will mention how to use the pre-cooked rice for this recipe in the notes section at the end of this recipe.

Ingredients:

  • Rice – 1 cup
  • Vegetables (carrots and beans), finely chopped – 1/2 cup (use any desired vegetable)
  • Peas – 2 tbsp
  • Onions,thinly sliced –  1 medium
  • Ginger & Garlic paste – 1 tsp
  • Whole Garam Masala –
    • Green cardamom – 3
    • Cloves – 2
    • Cinnamon one inch stick
  • Bayleaf – 1
  • Biryani masala – 1 tbsp optional
  • Broken Cashews – 1 tbsp
  • Raisins – 1 tbsp
  • Oil /ghee/butter –  2-3 tbsp
  • Salt – to taste
  • Water – 2 cups

Method:

  • Wash and soak rice in water for 15-20 mins and then drain.
  • In a pressure cooker add ghee / butter / oil and add bay leaves and the whole garam masala. Stir well.
  • Add the onions, fry till color changes and becomes translucent.
  • Add the ginger garlic paste and mix well with the onions.
  • Add the finely chopped vegetables and fry for 2-3 minutes.
  • Add the washed and drained rice to it and mix well.
  • Add 2 cups of water, salt (as per taste) and Biryani masala (optional). Mix well.
  • Pressure cook till completely cooked (4-5 whistles or may vary).

A few notable points:

  • If using pre-cooked rice: Heat oil in a pan, fry the spices, onions and veggies and add the cooked rice to it. Mix well so that the spices get well blended with the rice and vegetables.
  • I used only vegetables, but one can use chicken, egg prawn, paneer and give a corresponding name to it.
  • I generally use a pressure cooker for all my rice recipes, however the traditional way of making rice can also be used.
  • Using ghee/butter surely adds richness, but I prefer to use plain oil unless for some special occasions.
  • If you want to cook the Bengali style of fried rice or pulao add sugar as per taste and do not add biryani masala.
  • Cashew and raisins are optional and I generally use them for the special occasions.
  • Another secret tip for enhancing the flavor is to use some (small amount) biryani masala if available. Trust me that renders an awesome aroma to the rice.
Leave a Reply

