Chilli Chicken

After a wonderful and sunny weekend, the rains and dark clouds have come back to pester my state of mind again. I realize how much dependent my mood has become on  the weather. So after days of being not in touch with my blog I decided to catch up on the pending recipes lying in the draft section.  Somehow I know working on my blog is going to cheer me up today in spite if the gloominess outside! Tomorrow will mark the completion of a year of my marital bliss and am suddenly feeling very happy and excited about it. One whole year of togetherness just flew by…. last year this time I was amidst houseful of relatives and festivities. Looking back it sure had been the most memorable year in my life. I plan to watch my wedding video today before BBC  joins me in the evening. But prior to that I need to share this wonderful recipe with you all.

Chilli Chicken, originally a Chinese ‘formula’ has undergone may different variations in different parts of the world. So I am not sure in which version my recipe might fall into. However, I am familiar with the way my mom cooks it and I followed suit. My husband also does a good job of this ‘sans’ the egg. Have it as a starter or a main course, it will remain a lip-smacking dish always!

Ingredients:

  • Chicken, cut into small bite size pieces – 500 gms
  • Vinegar – 2 tbsp
  • Salt – to taste
  • Egg – 1
  • Cornflour/Cornstarch – 2-3 tbsp
  • Oil – 2 tbsp for frying
  • Onions, sliced – 2 medium-sized
  • Bell peppers, cut into thick strips – 1
  • Ginger paste – 1 tsp
  • garlic paste or chopped – 8-10 cloves
  • green chilies, chopped – 5-6
  • Soya sauce -1.5 tbsp
  • Tomato sauce -2 tbsp
  • Chilli sauce -1 tbsp or to taste
  • Chicken stock – 1 cup (if not available, substitute with water)

Method:

  • Cut the chicken into small pieces and marinate with vinegar and salt for 10 minutes. (Boneless chicken is preferrable.)
  • Add 2 tbsp of  cornstarch to the chicken, break the eggs and mix well. keep it aside for another 10-15 mins.
  • Heat sufficient oil in a pan and fry the chicken pieces till golden brown. Drain and keep aside.
  • In the same pan (add 1 tbsp more oil if required), heat the oil and fry the onions.
  • Add bell pepper, chopped green chillies, ginger paste and garlic to it and saute for a while.
  • Add soya, tomato and chilli sauce to it as per taste and mix well.
  • Add the left over marinade and chicken stock or water and mix well.
  • Add the chicken pieces and cover and cook for a while.
  • Mix the remaining cornstarch with 2-3 tbsp of water and add to the mixture.
  • Mix well and let it simmer for a minute.
  • Garnish with spring onions and serve hot.

Note:

  • For starters or a dry preparation let the excess moisture evaporate to the desired consistency.
  • For main course or gravy add chicken stock or water and cook till the desired consistency.
3 thoughts on “Chilli Chicken

  1. Great…I have a house-guest today and somehow not in a mood to cook a big meal! maybe I can borrow ur recipe minus the cornstarch (have to improvise there, not going shopping in this soggy chilly weather for a pack of cornstarch!)…..will let u know whether I was given the thumbs up or thumbs down for that!

Leave a Reply

