Fish Manchurian

For all those who know what ‘Fish Manchurian’ is really like – please excuse me… this may not be what you expect! For the name to this dish is a concocted one and may or may not bear any resemblance to the original one :-).

This dish was actually a result of one of my kitchen experiments. It was during my initial months of cooking and the Veg Manchurian (from Sanjeev Kappor’s site) was my latest hit those days. Also, BBC had prepared Fish Amritsari (again, courtesy Sanjeev Kappor’s recipes) which turned out to be a fabulous fish starter. So trying to come up with something different, I stole ideas from the Veg Manchurian and Fish Amritsari and ended up with this dish which I fancifully named as ‘Fish Manchurian’. It turned out to be so good that after tasting it my husband wanted his dinner then and there at 6.30 in the evening. Being not sure what to serve it with we ended up warming up some garlic bread that we had got just the previous day. Since then I have made it countless number of times and while we had it with parantha and with rice and dal too, nothing beats the combination of garlic bread with this particular preparation.

Though between the two of us we had an informal name for this recipe, it was only when I made it for one of his office picnics and everyone started asking the name, did he officially label  it as ‘Fish Manchurian’… and well I think that’s when I decided it should go up in my blog with this title … after all it surely is my version of Fish Manchurian.

Ingredients:

  • Boneless fish fillets, cut into 1 and 1/2 inch pieces – 4 to 5. I used Tilapia for this recipe but one can try with other types too.
  • Lime juice – 1 tbsp
  • Salt – to taste
  • Red Chilli powder – to taste
  • Ginger paste – 1/2 tsp
  • Garlic paste – 1/2 tsp
  • Egg – 2
  • Corn starch – 2-3 tsp
  • Oil – 2 tbsp (to deep fry)

For Sauce:

  • Onions, finely chopped – 1 medium-sized
  • Ginger paste – 1 tsp
  • Garlic paste – 1 tsp
  • Green chillies, chopped – 3
  • Soy sauce – 1 tbsp
  • Sugar – 1 tsp (or to taste)
  • Salt – to taste
  • Lime juice – 3-5 drops (optional / to taste)

For garnish:

  • Cilantro leaf
  • Dried Parsley
  • Red Chilli Pepper

Method:

  • Marinate the cut fillets in a bowl with lime juice, salt, red chilli powder, ginger and garlic paste for 15 minutes.
  • Break 2 eggs in the fish mixture, add corn starch to it and mix well. Let the fillets be marinated in this batter for another 5-10 minutes.
  • Heat sufficient oil in a pan for deep-frying (2 tbsp approx.).
  • Once the oil is hot, deep fry the fish fillets in small batches, till almost done. Drain from the oil and keep aside on an absorbent paper.
  • Keep aside the remaining batter for further use.
  • Leave about 2 tsp of oil in the pan and remove any excess oil. Reheat the pan, if required.
  • Add the chopped onions and green chillies and fry well.
  • Add gingerand garlic paste and mix well.
  • Add soya sauce, salt and sugar, mix well, cover and cook for 3-4 minutes.
  • Add the fried fish pieces and mix well for a minute.
  • Add the left over batter to the mixture and mix well. Let the egg in the batter cook and coat the entire mixture.
  • Sprinkle a few drops of water if the mixture dries up. Cover and cook for a minute.
  • Adjust salt and add few drops of lime juice if required. Mix well.
  • Garnish with dried parsley, cilantro leaf and red chilli pepper.

7 thoughts on “Fish Manchurian

  1. Found your webpage by accident for the 2nd time today so I considered I’d take a closer look. I have just began generating my personal blog and modeling it right after what you have done. I desire mine will be as effective as yours.

  2. Wonderful put up. I just discovered your web site and would like to say that I’ve definitely cherished studying via your weblog posts. At any rate I’m going to be subscribing to your feed and i truly hope you jot down again soon.

Leave a Reply

