Apple Sauce

My love for fruits and our conscious efforts to have a healthy diet often results in excessive stocking of fruits and greens in my pantry and then I need to devise ways to finish them off before they turn bad. Honestly, that is precisely how I landed up with this recipe. I had a basket of apples lying for almost a week and I was bored just looking at them. So thought of making something nice out of these which I could stock up for a longer period. Thus came the idea of scones with applesauce – something easy as well as new for our taste buds and for my blog.

I found that I could make either apple sauce or apple jam (which required pectin that I did not have) or apple butter (which needs very slow cooking for a very long period of time, something that I was not ready for). So I chose the simplest one and baked some scones to go with it. Turned out we had a perfect English snack for the evening with a cup of coffee.

Ingredients:

  • Apples – 7
  • Water – 1/2 to 3/4 cup
  • Lemon juice – 1 tsp
  • Salt – 1/4 tsp
  • Sugar – 1/4 cup or to taste (will vary depending on the sweetness of the apples)
  • Vanilla – 1 tsp (optional)

Note:

  • The texture and taste of the apple sauce will definitely depend on the type of apple chosen (as says my recipe search), however I used whatever I had in my kitchen and adjusted the sweetness accordingly.
  • All ingredients can be adjusted according to preferred taste and quantity of apple used. I just mentioned whatever I used.
  • Often additional spices like cinnamon and cloves are added the apple sauce though I preferred not to.

Method:

  • Wash the apples, peel off the skin using a peeler. Cut them in halves, remove the core and cut them into quarters or small pieces.
  • In a large pot add water and vanilla and the cut apples, cover and cook on high. When it starts boiling lower the heat to medium and cook till the apples turn soft.
  •  If you want the sauce to be very smooth you may grind/blend the cooked apples, mashing them with a potato masher will yield slightly chunky apple sauce. I wanted my sauce to have some texture but didn’t have a masher so I used a ladle and gently crushed the apples while cooking.
  • If using a grinder transfer the ground apples to the pot on medium flame. Add lemon juice salt and sugar and mix well. Let the sauce cook to the desired consistency.
  • Transfer it to a jar and let it cool down completely before refrigerating.

If making in bulk there are ways to store them in jars for more than a year. Click here for storage process. Since I made in small quantity I ended up storing it in a bowl tightly sealed with a plastic wrap.

Can be served with pancakes, scones, or any bread.

Leave a Reply

