Mango Ice-Cream Smoothie

DSC_0284

There is a slight nip in the air and the morning have started to become chilly. Which means that after a few days of a colorful fall it would be winter soon. Just a few days back it used to be broad daylight even at 8pm, and now it starts getting dark from 7. Where did summer go? When did it come in the first place? Why couldn’t there be an extended summer instead? Just thinking of the cold forlorn winter makes me feel gloomy. When I talk to my family back in India (specially in my hometown Kolkata where winter only lasts for a week or two) about such wishful thinking they just don’t understand why something as beautiful as a snowfall can be dreadful. They are almost envious of us that we don’t have to bear the scorching heat which bothers them all year long. Well, really I can’t even decide which is better – extreme heat or extreme cold. My only consolation are those winter days when the sun shines bright. And I tell myself that at least I could keep away the chill by layers of warm clothing while peeling away layers of clothing can still not be sufficient to face an extreme hot weather. So there, why am I complaining? In fact why am I even talking about weather? Isn’t it something that I do to fill the gaps in a conversation. This weather has really put me off in a bad mood. So I better shut up and quickly write away what I am here for.

DSC_0308

As I lament the end of summer, this post today is to remind me of the good warm and bright days that I have had and also something to look forward to next season. A delicious mango smoothie with some added creaminess from the vanilla ice cream – this is what summer is all about. There is no fixed recipe or proportions for this, you may add the vanilla ice cream or skip it completely.

DSC_0277

Ingredients: makes 2 glasses of mango smoothie

  • Ripe Mango – 1 large, pitted/de-seeded and cut into small cubes.
  • Vanilla Ice-cream – 1 scoop (adjust the proportion according to your choice)
  • Milk – as required (adjust proportion according to the desired thickness of the smoothie)
  • Sugar/Honey – to taste (I used honey instead of sugar but you can use either or both. Remember the proportion will have to adjust depending on the sweetness of the mangoes and the quantity/sweetness of the ice cream used.)
  • Ice cubes – 2 or 3 (optional)
  • Dry fruits – finely chopped almonds, pistachios or cashews – for garnishing

Method:

  • Put everything in a blender / food processor and blend to a fine smoothie.
  • Garnish with dry fruits and serve chilled.

DSC_0286

Leave a Reply

