Aloo Gobi/Cauliflower Curry

Another long weekend is peeking around the corner – the 4th of July weekend! Feels awesome – We already have a vacation planned with almost 6 families to Maine and I am eagerly looking forward to having a great time. The last couple of weeks have been equally good with family visiting and our short trips to NY and NJ meeting friends. No reason my blog has been taking a second or third (maybe even lower) priority these days. Did not have much time to explore with any new recipe either.

Seems like I need to finish up the stocked items in the freezer before I leave for Maine. So… the first item that needs an immediate attack is ‘GOBI’ or cauliflower which has been lying untouched in the freezer since last week. Well I know what needs to be done with that. Just  a simple Aloo Gobi curry – that way I do not spend too much time in the kitchen, I save the last two potatoes from growing tubers on their surfaces and being stashed away in the trash bin, and finally the main thing – my foodie husband has a good meal at the end of the day. Hurray!

This floral head occupies a very special nook in my husband’s heart and palate, specially the flavor of the florets stir fried with cumin seeds/jeera. As a matter of fact his bachelor days’ meals consisted of ‘Gobi’ or ‘FulKopi’ (as called in bengali) in almost every alternate day. I used to wonder at times if I should be memorizing Gobi recipes rather than having such long chats late into the nights. Well a smart girl like me did not take much time to realise that in order to pease my food-loving hubby I should learn how to make nice dal and a gobi recipe and that should keep me good for few days.  That was a long time ago… and now after almost a year of being the mistress of my house, I know that ‘aloo gobi’ or ‘Aloo FulKopi’r Dalna’ or in simple words cauliflower and potato curry still establishes a soft spot with BBC.

So this simple recipe made my way remains a delight for our household and I hope finds a place in your dinner table as well.

Ingredients:

  • Cauliflower – 1/2 medium
  • Potatoes – 2 medium
  • Cumin seeds – 1 tsp
  • Ginger paste – 1 tbsp
  • Tomato, finely chopped or pureed – 1/2 cup
  • Cumin powder – 1 tsp
  • Coriander powder – 1 tsp
  • Turmeric powder – 1/2 tsp
  • Green chillies, slit – 1 or 2 or to taste
  • Red chilli powder – to taste (optional)
  • Garam Masala powder – 1 tsp
  • Salt – to taste
  • Sugar – 1/2 tsp or to taste (optional)
  • Yogurt – 1 tbsp (optional)
  • Oil – 2 tbsp
  • Freshly chopped cilantro or parsley – for garnishing

Method:

  • Wash the cauliflower, cut into half, separate into medium-sized florets and trim the stems.
  • Peel, wash and cut the potatoes into small cubes.
  • Marinate the florets and potato cubes with a pinch of turmeric, salt and red chilli powder for a minute or so.
  • Heat oil in a pan, add 1/2 tsp cumin seeds and let them sizzle. Add the florets and stir fry till a light golden color. Once done drain from oil and keep aside.
  • Stir fry the potato cubes till a light golden color, then drain and keep aside.
  • In the same pan add the remaining cumin seeds, let them sizzle.
  • Add ginger paste, slit green chillies, turmeric powder, cumin powder, coriander powder, red chilli powder and tomato puree and fry well till the oil starts separating.
  • If desired add well beaten yogurt and mix well.
  • Add the fried florets and potato cubes and mix well.
  • Cover and cook till completely done. Add some water (if required) depending on the amount of gravy desired. Care should be taken that the florets do not turn mushy.
  • Adjust salt, add garam masala and sugar if desired.
  • Garnish with chopped cilantro or parsley.

11 thoughts on “Aloo Gobi/Cauliflower Curry

  1. Sweet blog, I hadn’t come across pamelakanjilal.wordpress.com earlier in my searches!
    Keep up the superb work!

  2. Super-Duper site! I am loving it!! Will come back again – taking you feeds also, Thanks.
    Hello. Great job. I did not expect this on a Wednesday. This is a great story. Thanks!

  3. Hey,
    I am sorry for the delayed reply as I was on a vacation and did not chk my mails. Also I am not really sure how to immediately resolve ur problem since I cant see u subscribed to my posts.. however give me sometime and I will try to do my best!

  4. I have never made curry before, but after falling in love with this dish at a local restaurant I would like to give it a try. I have a question though, when you say “cover and cook until completely cooked” — is your temperature on low? medium? I don’t want to ruin them 🙂 And about how long does it take for them to cook? Thanks!

    1. Hi, Thanks for dropping by. Let me explain to you my “cover and cook” concept 🙂
      For any curry/gravy dish I always put the flame on medium so that as the vegetable cook the spices also get sufficient time to seep into the them. Cooking on high flame will lead to the moisture drying up too soon. While slow cooking (on a low flame) is also possible but its just too time taking for me. SO I just put it up on a medium flame and cover it. Again, cooking uncovered might lead to the moisture evaporating too soon and I will have to then add some water to it and diluting the spice levels. If you have a lot of gravy and you wouldn’t mind thickening it then go ahead and don’t use the cover. But if you note, I hardly used any water other than what was already there with the yogurt.
      As per the time taken to cook, well your veggies are first getting quite a bit cooked when you are frying them and then when you add them to the gravy at the last it would take anything from 10-12 mins. If you want to speed up the process you could also boil or microwave your veggies first so that they are a little tender from the start. It might lead to a slight change in the texture and taste but is perfect when you are in a rush or looking for a mor ehealthy version of this. Hope that helps!

      Thanks
      Pam

  5. Hi, it looks delicious, but where does all the sauce come from? the picture shows lot of lovely sauce but you only added 1 tablespoon of yoghurt and some tomato and a little oil. Thanks, Andy

  6. Thank you SO MUCH for this recipe – after much searching the internet, I decided to give yours a try. I LOVE Indian food, but have been very intimidated by many of the different spices and ingredients which are unfamiliar to me (I am of Italian descent). Anyhow, I followed this recipe to the letter, and IT WAS FANTASTIC! 5 stars!

  7. Hi.. Thanks for the recipe. I have few questions. I see green peas in the picture. When should we add the green peas to the recipe? Can we also add green bell peppers to this dish? if yes, let me know when it can be added and will it change the taste of the gravy? Can you also let me know roughly how many cups of recipe do we get when cooked with the ingredients qty you listed?

    1. Hi Usha, You can add / not green peas – completely up to you. I like peas a lot. I have used thawed and cooked/frozen peas while simmering the gravy. You can use boiled peas when you are adding teh florets. Feel free to add bell pepper if you want or any other veggies like carrots if you want. It will just give a slightly different flavor. I usually did not measure how many cups of curry you will get out of this. But it is my estimate that it can serve 3-4 people (of course it depends with what it is being served).

Leave a comment